7月28日周日 | JY&A,上東區,紐約,美國

DOWNTOWN DIGITAL:紐約市1980年代至1990年代

[II]小約翰·西蒙(John F. Simon):《漫步在行》,數字繪圖選集
報名截止
DOWNTOWN DIGITAL:紐約市1980年代至1990年代

Time & Location

2019年7月28日 GMT-4 下午7:00 – 2019年9月11日 GMT-4 上午12:08
JY&A,上東區,紐約,美國

About

策劃:袁小瑩

今天,當我們的社會試圖想像AI技術對我們未來的潛在影響時,JY&A邀請您回到80年代和90年代的紐約,探索第一代藝術家創作的精選早期作品參與藝術和技術的交匯處。模擬到數字的過渡以及這些藝術家的早期實踐將數字語言納入他們的作品,與當今使用尖端技術並參考互聯網的藝術家進行了有趣的對話。

市區數字:Arts.net上僅在線的NYC 1980s-1990s,專注於紐約先驅藝術家的精選存檔作品。這些檔案館主要從事紙張,繪畫和版畫作品,包含藝術家在美術實踐中運用尖端技術進行的早期探索。這些檔案中產生的想法隨後被發展為繪畫,雕塑和各種大小和格式的互動裝置,並在商業畫廊,博物館,藝博會中展出,並由國際私人收藏家和博物館收集。

我們致力於展示具有美術背景的一代藝術家的檔案作品,這些藝術家是最早從事科技美學的藝術家。他們畢業於美國著名的藝術學校,接受過畫家或雕刻師的培訓,但花了大量時間學習軟件,計算機編碼和編程。隨後,憑藉其持久性和奉獻精神開發了這類藝術的市場。

[II]小約翰·西蒙(John F. Simon):《漫步在行》,數字繪圖選集

2019/07/15 – 2019/09/10

小型回顧展展示了一系列罕見的檔案圖紙,這些圖紙來自美國計算機藝術領域最傑出,被廣泛展示和收集的先驅之一。美術,軟件,技術方面最重要的研究。最早的圖紙是25歲的!

即將來臨

[III]約瑟夫·內希瓦塔爾,由理查德·蓋勒畫廊(紐約/巴黎)代理

計算機病毒項目1.0

2019年8月1日至9月30日

Share This Event

Sun, Jul 28 | JY&A, Upper East Side, New York, NY, USA

DOWNTOWN DIGITAL: NYC 1980s-1990s

[II] John F. Simon, Jr.: Line On A Walk, A Selection Of Digital Drawings
Registration is closed
DOWNTOWN DIGITAL: NYC 1980s-1990s

Time & Location

Jul 28, 2019, 7:00 PM EDT – Sep 11, 2019, 12:08 AM EDT
JY&A, Upper East Side, New York, NY, USA

About

Curated by: Xiaoying Juliette Yuan

Today, when our society is trying to imagine the potential impact of AI technology on our future, JY&A invites you to travel back to the New York of the ’80s and ’90s to discover a selection of early works created by the first generation of artists involved in the intersection of art and technology. The transition of analog-to-digital and these artists' early practices incorporating a digital language into their work, forms an intriguing dialogue with today's artists who utilize cutting-edge technologies and reference the Internet.

Downtown Digital: NYC 1980s-1990s, online exclusively on Artsy.net, focuses on selected archived works from New York-based pioneer artists. Mainly works on paper, paintings, and prints, these archives contain the artists' early explorations with cutting-edge technology in a fine arts practice. The ideas that were born in these archives were subsequently developed into paintings, sculptures, and interactive installations of various sizes and formats, presented in commercial galleries, museums, art fairs and collected by private collectors and museums ​internationally​.

We are committed to presenting the archive work of a generation of artists from a fine arts background who was the first to engage a tech-art aesthetic. They graduated from prominent art schools in the US, trained as painters or sculptors but spent significant time learning software, computer coding, and programming. Subsequently, a market for this type of art developed with their persistence and dedication.

[II] John F. Simon, Jr.: Line On A Walk, A Selection Of Digital Drawings

07/15/2019 – 09/10/2019

Small retrospective showcasing a series of rare archive drawings from one of the most accomplished, widely exhibited and collected pioneers in computer art in the US. The most important research in fine arts, software, technologies. The earliest drawings are dated 25 years old!

Upcoming

[III] Joseph Nechvatal, represented by Galerie Richard (New York/Paris)

Computer Virus Project 1.0

August 1 - September 30, 2019

Registration is closed

Share This Event